Mr John

By MrJohn

Power .....

..... cut.

No, I'm not describing how I feel after the tough training session on the moor with spartan this evening. but the darkness that fell over Ilkley tonight.

After returning home from training I put my dinner in the oven, had a shower, then put my laptop on to decide which of the grainy sunset phone snaps I would blip tonight.....

.... The lights flickered, my oven made a funny noise, then nothing.

No power this side of the river. I went to the top floor of my house and looked out of the windows, I could see distant street lights, the odd torch being shone in people's houses and candles being lit in windows. People were opening their front doors to see if it was just them and chatting to neighbours. There's nothing like a good power cut to bring out the blitz spirit.

I had a few calls from friends to see if my power was out and my mate Luke called around with his head torch on, which came in very handy to eat my three quaters cooked meal by.

The power was back on within an hour and at least it's given me something to blip.

So instead of a sunset, todays blip is Ilkley's.......

..... Power cut.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.