Journey Through Time

By Sue

Pretend....

that this little ruckus at the Refuge is in focus. Just use your imagination for a minute. See, it just clears up nicely if you think about it and then you can see these little Savannah Sparrows having a difference of opinion on their territorial rights. Or maybe it's love, as Musings pointed out. I'll let you decide. And I think this is the first time I've seen a Savannah Sparrow*, that I know of. And wouldn't this have been a really cool photo had the focus been better?

So, I was almost done with the route around Ridgefield NWR and I saw some commotion in the grass. These two little birds were sitting there and then suddenly they would fly up, flutter around and then land back on the ground. So, I tried...and on my camera it looked pretty good. But, on the computer...not so much. These guys kept fluttering opposite of where I was headed, so I lost them. In retrospect, since there was nobody behind me, I should have just backed up and maybe I would have had another shot at it. But they were so fast and small..I shall just have to think that this is the best I could have done anyway.

Another fantastic day in the PNW area and we are loving every second of it. Rain will return later in the week, so wanted to get to the Refuge today. The Great Horned Owls are no longer in their nest.

I need to get back to chores, so see ya later Blippers. Hope all is well in your corner of the world.

* Savannah Sparrow Lives all year in most of California, winters in Southern US, and summers from middle of the US up to all of North America. Feeds on ground, eating mostly seeds but also insects, spiders and snails in summer. Sometimes jumps backward to scrape away ground debris and uncover food. Nests in small cup like nest of grasses and moss lines with hair or finer grasses, placed on the ground. Males at times may have more than one mate. Females may also lay eggs in other pairs' nests. This sparrow runs along the ground like a small vole to avoid possible danger and, when flying, stays close to grass tops. Habitat is a variety of moist tallgrass areas - meadows, beaches, lake and river edges; varied habitats in winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.