Journey Through Time

By Sue

The Cherry Tree

I decided to show you part of this fantastic tree that I pass to get to my house. This is in somebody's front yard, and the tree hangs over the sidewalk. I walked down there and walked under the branches of this tree, with all of these thousands of blossoms everywhere. It looks like a cotton candy tree! It is just spectacular. It is so full of blossoms right now that it just overpowers the senses. At least it does for me.

We delivered something for my aunt and talked with her a while. Then we went to see a place that I have heard of, Whitaker Ponds. It took as awhile to get there as Bill missed the cutoff to get to Columbia Blvd. and so he said, "Oh we can go down here and get over there." Well, THAT didn't work. "Going down here" entailed driving quite a ways before we could turn right, which got us on a road that didn't hook up to Columbia Blvd, but to Marine Drive (and then we turned right to continue on, instead of turning around..we'd passed the point of no return I think) which meant that he drove all the way around the airport and had to go to 122nd before we could turn right to get back to the main road, to take us back to the freeway, to take us back to where he could take the correct cutoff to drive down to 47th, which we missed because I was looking for a sign to say where the "nature preserve" was and so we had to turn around and go back. Whatever happened to signage, anyway! We made a gigantic circle around our target area. Good Grief! No, we don't have a new enough car for GPS and, no, we don't have smart phones. I was stuck with my memory and Bill's driving. HA! So, that was a huge drive to get to this place that wasn't that big. It is a place that has been reclaimed from it being a garbage dumping ground and the parks department is trying to keep it a natural wildlife area. It still needs a lot of work on the trail. There were some little kids there on a field trip and they were so cute. I asked one if he saw Bigfoot. His eyes got pretty big. I'm so bad. We did see an Osprey way up in the tree, but too far away for me to get anything good out of the image....so this tree from our neighborhood, about to bust it's buttons. was the image I liked best. My Flickr page has a few shots of Whitaker Ponds, the osprey and the tree if you want to check it out.

We were driving around in a clean car as Bill washed the car and his little truck yesterday and I did a pretty decent interior cleaning. I found a clothes pin, the straw that slipped away from me the other day, a paperclip, a fork (?) and 78 cents. The fork had to have come from the picnic we took to the beach last summer. It was way down between the seat and the console, in the place that time forgot....

Gorgeous weather continues for a few more days.

See ya later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.