A place in time

By Verbosa

A hundred years from today...

It's my 100th day today!

I've been pondering what I might blip to celebrate my hundredth, then this came to me - it's the song "A hundred years from today".

OK, OK, it's talking about 100 years not 100 days, but let's not be picky, eh?

My Dad used to love this song, especially when performed by Chris Barber's jazz band (I'm pretty sure that was the version he liked), and it always made him well up with emotion. So my Mum and I tried to find a good version to have at his funeral, but only came across this one AFTER the day, as the Dean Martin & Frank Sinatra versions didn't sound right. But this girl - Carice Van Houten - sings it perfectly. Try finding it on YouTube, which takes the song from the film Black Book (great film).

The lyrics are:

"Don't save your kisses, just pass 'em around
You'll find my reason is logically sound
Who's gonna know that you pass them around
A hundred years from today

Why crave a penthouse, that's fit for a queen
You're nearer heaven on mother Earth's green
If you had millions what would they all mean
One hundred years from today

So laugh and sing, make love the thing
Be happy while you may
There's always one beneath the sun
Who's bound to make you feel that way

The moon is shining and that's a good sign
Cling to me closer say you'll be mine
Remember, baby, we won't see it shine
A hundred years from today
One hundred years from today"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.