ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Quack.

Rubbish Blip tonight; apologies. I took a good large selection of duck-based photos at the park earlier today but all were too poor for me to be proud of. Unfortunately I'm now too tired to come up with an alternative, so here we are.

Today was filled with the proof-reading of a 250+ page document; at one point I was actually doing the 'nodding dog' at my desk... It's a fascinating report once you get into it, but the technical jargon at the beginning is enough to make anyone weep. Luckily I pushed past it today and tomorrow I'll be onto the species descriptions and environmental impact assessment - much more interesting. I got to work at 7am this morning so that I could leave at 4pm and spend more time with Mum - I like this system and I think I'll continue when M's home.

When I left the office, Mum and I had a cup of tea and I baked a banana and walnut loaf. While it was cooking, the pair of us went for a walk by the river Dee and back through the cemetery, reading the headstones. When the cemetery is as old as that one, some of the stones are so sad - one family in particular had lost 3 consecutive children at less than 5 months old. If that was my relative, however, I would be pleased that someone still wandered through the graveyards reading the headstones and remembering that these people existed.

When Mum and I got home, the banana and walnut cake was ready to get out and take round to M's Mum and Dad's for tea. We had a lovely dinner of Moroccan beef stew, a couple of glasses of wine, and banana loaf and ice cream for pudding. Home now after a lovely evening; as always so happy that M's family are as lovely as they are and Mum and I get invites for dinner when M's not even here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.