Fatties Fit Fine

My new "fat front" build of the On-One Inbred singlespeed on Belhaven Beach, East Lothian. What a blast! A great big piece of driftwood propping it up as the Easterly wind hurls the kitesurfers along the shore.

Even Fatter!

Yesterday I had an idea - and today I rode it! That's the great thing about having a good bikeshop - thanks to Mark at The Bike Chain, Edinburgh. I've been lusting after a Surly Pugsley snow and sand bike, but they cost a lot. So I decided to experiment with a narrower than recommended - but still pretty big - rim and a Surly Larry tyre. Mark ordered one - it came in today. The tyre is rated at 3.8" on a 65mm "Large Marge" rim, and I measured the clearance on my fork at 3.7"... So with a 32mm rim (which I had) would it come in under 3.7"? One way to find out. Fit it. And it worked! There's about 5mm clearance either side which is plenty.

On the beach it's almost as good as fat front & rear - obviously the rear wheel sinks a bit - because the front wheel is what matters, the back wheel drives and follows where the front wheel goes. I only had time for a quick spin before the children arrived, so I'll be looking forward to a longer spin later in the week.

How much fun is this!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.