October 4th Journal

By IONAX

Still Catholic

Still on the hill from yesterday with the Catholic Church. The garden belongs to the hospital which is to the left. You can see Hallgrimskikja in the distance.
The oldest building is the one with twin gables and was the Catholic School in Reykjavik. All my five sisters attended that school but I, the only son was sent to Melaskólinn, a new Public School (tomorrow) which I hated all the time I was there. This is strange as my family is not Catholic.
The white building between the church and the blue wooden house is new and so is the other one that looks just like it.
When I was in lower secondary school a short distance from here (the day after tomorrow) there was a wooden house on the corner to the right with a gymnasium. Little did I know that it was the old Catholic church. It was in 1929 that the Catholic bishop gave the old church to a sports club to use as a gymnasium if the students cold use it during the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.