October 4th Journal

By IONAX

My first School

This is my first school, Melaskólinn, and it started October 5th 1946 but I didn´t attend until 1951, then seven years old. The architect was Einar Sveinsson and decorations inside were by Barbara Árnason (a woman) and Ásmundur Sveinsson. (See the inserted picture here) Ásmundur and I (17)
I hated this school and tried to escape (it was not a boarding school), but was found and returned and I think the teachers had an eye on me after that. I didn't learn to read there and later I came to the conclusion with the help of my aunt that my grandfather had thought me to read before he died in 1949 and nobody cared... he was borne in 1873 and his teaching methods were maybe a little unusual... and two years later I had forgotten it - but on Christmas eve my present was my first book and I read it that night.
The round house in front is a labyrinth with coat racks and you can get lost in there if you are seven. The glass wall on the corner is the hall where all the students met in the morning to sing (I hate to have to sing) and the strange windows on the top is a small showroom with a stage. The house farther away but in the same style is the gymnasium.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.