One click at a time

By KeithKnight

April Challenge - Light Painting - Is this right?

Not enough time after dark for me to go out and do some light painting with a flashgun around a churchyard, or derelict building, nor to get the torch out to paint the outline of something. I did think of putting this painting on my kitchen scales, after having 'zeroed' it with the painting on it - so it weighed very little and was a light painting. But instead, I quickly knocked this one up.

So, how did the competition go? The judge gave me a good laugh, I had to cover my mouth at one point. The picture of the birch tree was entitled "Birch Tree in Mist". The judge said that the weather was against me (maybe I should have included some reference to the weather in the title to help him - Doh, I did!), and I should also have used Photoshop to work up the contrast in the distance (get rid of the mist effect then :) ). So it was unplaced. Having said that he only liked things with bright bold colours, no mono images were placed in either prints or projected images. He also didn't like my 'Wall' which was accepted in the German International Salon last month and formed part of my LRPS Panel. Whose opinion do I have the higher regard for?, a local judge or a panel on an International selection committee? Answer to that is simple - the ones who liked my pictures! The view of the Competition Secretary - "You was robbed". Still it saves me preparing anything for the next competition, as my entries were unplaced I can enter them again next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.