One click at a time

By KeithKnight

April Challenge - Earth - 3rd Rock From The Sun

"Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy lies a small unregarded yellow sun.

Orbiting this at a distance of roughly ninety-two million miles is an utterly insignificant little blue green planet whose ape-descended life forms are so amazingly primitive that they still think digital watches are a pretty neat idea."

Douglas Adams words are now beginning to sound a little dated - there are many more recent inventions that are also thought of as a pretty neat idea.

Here is my picture of that 3rd rock from the sun.

This was probably the most complex lighting set up that I have done for a blip or otherwise.

The subject was a glass paperweight with bubbles in it. This was placed on a light box with a sheet of polarising film under the paperweight on the light box. I then used my polarising filter on the camera and adjusted it to give me a dark background, with the edges of the bubbles and imperfections inside lit. I then used 3 flash guns placed around the sides, each with a different coloured filter on it to give the coloured highlights. It's so tempting to say simple!, but it wasn't!

Thanks for all the comments on yesterdays blip. Today's blip was set up yesterday evening and then done early this morning, as I knew I wouldn't have time tonight, it being the camera club competition which my picture of the Buttermere Birch Tree (seen yesterday) is entered. If you want to know what the judge thought of it - check tomorrows blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.