earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Denton Park

First, I've been overwhelmed and deeply humbled by the amazing response to yesterday's Springtime at the Tarn. It now ranks second only to Reflecting on Thin Ice as my most popular ever blip. Odd that they should both have been taken from virtually the same spot. They are such different photographs, taken at different times of the year, at different times of the day, in very different weather, and with contrasting treatments, but the essential beauty of this spot is brought out in both. I'm lucky that this is only five minutes walk from home.

It's strange that yesterday morning I was all set to cycle into the office by one of my longer routes, but just found myself procrastinating and dithering about. An inner voice was telling me to go up to the moor. I can't really remember making any decision but I just found myself walking out the house and then past the tarn and I realised how perfect was the light and the reflections. At some deep level I must have understood that this is where I needed to be.

Thanks also for the great comments on my previous life as a games programmer. It seemed to stir up quite a few memories, and I've had quite a few surface today. Perhaps during this 30th birthday week of the Spectrum I'll relate a few stories which have come to mind. It was a very exciting but ultimately rather frustrating time of my life.

This morning I cycled into work before the weather really set in and delivered a deluge of rain which is still being dropped by the bucket load as I write this in the evening. This shot was taken in light drizzle and was the only one I have in the camera. It's been fun to play with a rather boring original and turn it into a picture which I now rather like. The treatment I think suits the setting of this old estate. These fields are often full of geese and there was one pair, just out of frame, that was being followed around by at least six tiny goslings. I've not seen any on the canal yet but I'm sure they'll be appearing soon. It's a long time since I've played the cute card with my blip!

A busy but productive day at work and tonight I've got to catch up with some jobs I've been avoiding for weeks or even months. I can't put them off any longer, despite much preferring to spend my time here. A huge thank you to everyone who conferred hearts and stars and left comments on yesterday's blip. You're all so completely wonderful. Cheers guys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.