Skydreamery

Well, it's certainly become clear how important a catchy thumbnail is to one's viewing figures. I originally created a very sweet thumbnail of a smiley Muddyshoes, but then changed my mind just before I went to bed. I'm not sure whether it was the penis or the abs that piqued so much interest? I'd say the normal number of views is doubled. Tarquin is apparently very flattered by all the attention and is demanding a new coat of varnish!

It's been a mostly dull and damp day here but the forecast was spot on when it suggested it would clear this evening. On the train home I could see some interesting things happening in the sky and felt like a little kid going out to play when I went for a run on the moor. The cloudscapes were amazing. It was a tough choice tonight but I keep being drawn back to this one because of the wonderful diagonals again.

As I was heading down I caught sight of a runner coming my way, just as I was turning off the main trail. I noticed he was wearing a number. Then a few more runners appeared, and then someone on a mountain bike. It suddenly dawned on me that it was the Dick Hudson's Fell Race tonight. I created this race a few years back and I've become so disengaged with my sport and the fell running community that I'd completely forgotten about it. Just as well the organisation has been taken over by someone else!

It was devised as a very low key race, runners starting from the tarn and having to make their way to Dick Hudson's Pub and back via any route of their choosing. There is considerable route choice and we open the race (unofficially) to mountain bikers too. In dry conditions the bikers have the advantage but that shifts to the runners when it's wet, as is usually the case. This year it will have been close I think. Seeing everyone racing it was odd to think that they were all there because of me. I was very detached from it all. I had jacket potatoes in the oven so I couldn't hang around to see the leaders come home. I felt envious but also not so envious at the same time. I'd enjoyed a lovely meditative run on my own. And I got this blip. That's a result as good as any position in a fell race.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.