THE ONE among many

There comes a time when you have to stand up and be counted.
Gale Sayers


When it comes to squirrels, Nelson is really one among many. He faithfully stands at attention and waits for me to hand deliver his peanuts. I've been absorbed in my Nora Diary Project , but have no fears that I have forgotten my wildlife friends. Two shy chipmunks, Ruby the Red Squirrel and countless squirrels still enjoy the morning buffet.

G is packing and probably finishing up his paper. I am very sad that our daily creativity will be coming to an end for a bit. He might be home by August after his wonderful adventure in London.

The exciting part, staging his Nora performance will keep him busy this coming month. I cannot wait to hear how it evolves. I expect it will have many changes from what we have created so far. I wish I could be there to see the whole process. To watch him where he is so comfortable, at home in the theatre shaping and performing his work.

I plan to wrap up my current diary entry project on Blip soon. I'm thinking about ways of showcasing it myself(a book, an exhibit of photographs?) or in tandem with his show when he's on this side of the Atlantic again.

I'm a terribly sentimental teary one who is awful with goodbyes. It gets worse as I get older, but I've never been a stoic type. I wear my tears and heart for all to see, it's just me. We'll have a family dinner together tonight at the Beijing House, our favorite Chinese restaurant and the jet will take him back over the Pond tomorrow.

Saying goodbye this time seems like parting from Nora again as well. She has been so present, so insistent, so right by our side these last weeks. Nora has always been there for me, in life and in spirit, but I somehow feel even more surrounded by her arms and so in her debt.

For the Record,
This day came in bright and green, a lovely April day. Max likes to watch Nelson as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.