... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Terracotta tiles & intricate ironwork.

I took very few photographs today: I was at work and became rather distracted by computer trouble (yawn), and also a cuddly squid in the gift shop (sigh)... The only other photos I took were rather more urban, which is not my usual fare: I shot the "subway" leading from the museums to the underground station at South Kensington, and wires radiating from a telegraph pole... I might have to experiment further on that theme.

The light tempted me into taking this shot: it was falling unusually, and seemed to accentuate the curves and repeating patterns that make up the main hall of the Nat Hist. This was my original photo (at an angle), but then  I took another more traditional one; I was surprised at how much it seemed to deaden the impact of the light and shapes. It also looks rather more traditional rotated 90 degrees clockwise, but even then (with the same framing) loses impact, and seems to draw attention to a single terracotta monkey. It is interesting what subtle effects different framing choices can have: leading the eye, drawing attention to details or the overall scene, causing a sense of stillness or movement...
What fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.