Random Musings

By RandomMusing

How Cool !

I freely admit that I am a bit of a sad geek type who likes to spend a lot of their time reading. In the house we have an obscene number of books, and we are in the process of ferrying those that others do not want to charity shops.

A few years ago I received and kindle, and despite being apprehensive I found I loved it. It was so much lighter and easier to take back and forward to work. I still bought/buy actual books as nothing feels or smells better than a real book. It also took a while to get used to the fact that you only click the next page button when you have finished all the text (I tend to start to turn the page as I am reading the last bit)

More recently I received an iPad - and then installed the app there. It is easier to hold and less warm than a laptop and backlit which helps when there is low light.

On the Ipad you can turn on the page turn animation, which I did recently and oh I was so impressed. Not because of the quality of the animation (which is very good) but because there was enough attention to detail applied that they made sure you could see the words you have just read through the back of the page as it turns. How cool is that!!

I accept I may be the only person that actually finds this cool but you know what - I don't care. It makes me smile every time

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.