The second half of life..

By twigs

1500 colours of autumn

When I had to let the cat out at 3.00am I noticed my message light flashing on my phone. Dad had called when I was out last night to say my sister had been taken in to hospital - something to do with a clot. A couple of weeks ago she had a hip replacement operation and has been steadily re-building her mobility, strength etc so I figured the 2 things would be related. Still, the words 'clot' and 'hospital' are enough to set a mind racing at that time in the morning, although dad did say that she was ok and in good hands. Some comfort.

I called mum when I got up this morning to get more of the story - it seems that she'd been uncomfortable for a few days and things had become much, much worse - pain so intense she likened it to childbirth. The paramedics had been with her at home for a couple of hours last night before she finally succumbed to the pain and agreed to be taken to hospital. Her hip surgeon believes that she has a deep bruise which is causing the problem. They don't really want to open up the hip again for fear of infection - I'll call mum again tomorrow morning for an update but things appear to be ok for the time being.

So this is for you Fi - to brighten your day :) I know you said you liked my wine shots but today you get leaves! Take care and I'll talk to you soon.

PS This is so not what I thought my 1500th would be like but to be honest, it's kind of snuck up on me and I was somewhat surprised to see it was today. Time for a celebratory wine - feel free to join me ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.