The second half of life..

By twigs

Fantail

My plans to head away in the van today changed when I received a call this morning telling me that a colleague, Emma, had died in the small hours.

It's been a tough journey for her. I guess there are no 'easy' cancer journeys. She had been so strong and determined up to this point but just last week she had said it was too tough (my words, not hers). Just a few days later she passed away, finally free from pain.

We can't know why, but if we believe there is a plan, then Emma has been taken from this world for a reason. It may not be clear to us and it may feel - it does feel - so wrong and so unfair, so we cling to the comforting belief there is a greater power whose plan always has our - Emma's - best interests at heart.

This little fantail (piwakawaka) visited today, a messenger, bringing news of death from the gods to the people.(ref)

Rest peacefully Emma.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.