the colour green

By jukeys

surprise!

Mum had it all arranged; she would have dad at Paddy's stall for 10.30am. Caroline met up with them first - just "happened to be in at the market".

I walked towards the stall first with Caroline saying "that's looks like Judith over there"... Dad's face was a picture. He just stood there open-mouthed, staring at me from 50 yards away. I kept walking and gave him a big hug once I'd reached him.

I then turned round and said "oh, that looks an awful lot like Henry over there", meanwhile my Uncle was walking towards us with his cap pulled down over his eyes. This picture says it all: dad scratching his head in disbelief!

Then my Auntie Ju appeared and Uncle Wes quickly followed.

What a surprise! I think my dad was a bit overwhelmed to be honest.

We went for a sit down and to have a coffee. Needless to say, dad had alcohol instead :) We told him about the boat trip on the Canal du Midi that was planned for Saturday and he was speechless.

Everyone went back with mum to Les Pilles, but Auntie Ju, Carrie and I went to Entrechaux to get the cake decorated. I'd had an idea of making a Scrabble cake for dad - he's obsessed with it. So, Carrie had already made the fruit cake and all we had to do was ice it. I'd had to book a hold bag on the flight over just to bring the icing! Here it is: Scrabble cake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.