Alternative Love

Rain stopped play so as I wasn't able to go and offer my photos for sale at the free-to-exhibit 'Art on the Railings' which takes place on the last weekend of every month I resisted the temptation to hide under the duvet and took myself off to the Sew Gay craft session in the Forum (the Norwich central library).

Sew Gay is an open group which was set up by some friends of mine a year or so ago and so far the group has made two beautiful banners: one for the Sing with Pride choir, one for Norwich Pride, made a major contribution to creating a Rainbow Scarf that is big enough to wrap across the front of City Hall in Norwich and is proudly displayed there every year at Norwich Pride.

The group is currently working on making a banner for IDAHO (International Day against Homophobia and Transphobia) Day on 17th May, knitting rainbow coloured chains and making bunting to decorate Chapelfield Gardens at this year's Pride and creating an LGBT History patchwork. Each patch represents a year and a notable event in LGBT history - the photo you see here is a patch made by a lovely woman named Jenny but I seem to have lost the notes I made telling me what this patch represents.

My contribution to today's session was to do some sewing on the IDAHO banner and take some pics.

I still didn't manage to sleep much last night - I seem to have developed an immunity to Valerian - but at least the headache has cleared a bit. A very dear friend has offered some practical help, which we are so thankful for, and I guess we will just have to take things a day at a time.

A small but very thoughtful thing came from fellow blipper Katkatzenjammer (Chaos and Calm) who offered her blip today just for me.

You are all so lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.