Grumpy Old Git

By GrumpyOldGit

A Visiting Friend

Today was another dull wet miserable day outside. I pottered about doing various things until just after lunch, by which time my legs were sufficiently uncomfortable that I decided to lay down and take the weight off of them, as I did not wish to take more analgesics. I had been like this for half an hour or so, when my friend Ralph arrived unexpectedly. What a delight, we have known each other for some 28 years, and have much in common, but these days we only see each other three or four times a year.

I set up the coffee machine and as soon as coffee was made, we went into the lounge with our drinks. The dull day, suddenly became much more interesting and we chatted for just over a couple of hours, mostly about cars and engineering, as we are both engineers and he works for Ford in their design area.

All too soon it was time for him to go. Looking at him in his bright red jacket, I thought that he would make a very good blip and said so, taking his picture just before he went. Today's blip is of my friend Ralph, sitting in our lounge in front of one of our many overcrowded bookcases. I believe that he looks as happy as Susan and I were to see him.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.