Adam's Images

By ajt

Winchester Round Table

This is a picture of the Round Table that hangs in the Great Hall in Winchester.

Today was a south coast blip meet, most blippers took the dry option and stayed in the Cathedral, I had a tour of the city by @RedFlash, while my better half did some errands in the city. After the photo tour I took my better half out for lunch in a tea shop and then we went to the other end of the city to look at the Great Hall.

The Winchester Round Table (if you believe Wikipedia) was made during the reign of Edward I and tarted up into it's current form by Henry VIII. The Hall is free to visit (unlike the Cathedral) and is well worth the effort to walk up the hill. There are other bits to see and a nice visitors shop - that sells bookmarks (sorry I couldn't resist).

I've always held the view than Salisbury was a much more interesting city to visit than Winchester - it also has the advantage of being on a direct rail line instead of requiring a change at Basingstoke. However having spent more time there with a little help to know what to look for my opinion of the city has improved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.