Plus ça change...

By SooB

Curtains

A day of many halves. First, a fine trip to the market. There were many chickens and rabbits for sale and, aside from reminding the kids that the rabbits there are not destined to be pets, I did find myself sorely tempted by some fine looking hens. One day. Katherine bought a tomato plant for the garden she has made with two of our neighbours. They have just dug (roughly - to about 3cm deep...) some clay soil outside their den and put any seeds or seedlings they could scavange from parents in there. And the annoying thing is, I bet they'll grow better than my patiently cared for seeds.

Meanwhile, I headed for my friendly material seller, and made his day by buying 24 metres of fabric.... No wonder he threw in a free tablecloth! Then home for lunch and getting Conor ready for a football match in Gaillac. Mr B volunteered to take Conor to the match, so I lived up to my side of the gender divide and made curtains. Here they are, though why I've chosen to photograph the one wonky stitch is beyond me. Foolishly, I've decided to make a Roman blind too, though it's a long time since I've made one and I recall it being a bit fiddly. We shall see. And Conor chose some rather fetching tartan material for his curtains, he's being going on a bit lately about wanting to move back to Scotland - so hopefully this will keep him happy until he is in love with France again.

The football seemed to go well - they played four matches, and only lost the one that Conor wasn't playing in. There's a big tournament on Tuesday, so hopefully he can keep up his winning streak. Meanwhile Katherine has started a production line of clay pots, though after being sent for an early shower after a very messy looking clay fight with the neighbours, she left them out in the rain so I imagine she will need to restart tomorrow.

And in final excitement for the day (as if all that wasn't enough) the high winds blew half a tree down across the road that leads away from the houses. Happily no children were underneath it, and as usual the community leapt straight into action, two chainsaws and a ladder were produced and between us all, the debris was cleared away in no time. And triply happily this has all occured before my dad (a former forester) was here - I'm not sure he'd be too impressed by the chainsawing in shorts with no protective equipment option...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.