Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

Feeling Good - Nina Simone

In all fairness this newspaper spread isn't the only reason I'm feeling good (sorry moose) but it's certainly playing a big part. I don't want to devote too much of my blip to football, but yesterday's win is one we wouldn't have got in recent seasons and keeps us in catching difference of Rangers and a Champions League spot.

Anyway, the other reason I'm feeling good is that we have some holiday stuff arranged now. We've booked 4 nights in a log cabin with a private hot tub within a stone's throw of Alton Towers for the first week of July. In addition to that my mum has booked an appartment in Mallorca for the October week. She lives down in Lincolnshire and doesn't get to see Maddy as much as the other Grandparents and, given that her birthday usually falls in Maddy's October week, she likes to book somewhere tahtshe can spend tiome with her in decent weatehr and with fun stuff to do.

So that's a while away organised anyway. We're still hoping that cash dependant we may be able to go somewhere for a wee bit longer during Maddy's summer holiday, but even if we don't manage we're not doing to badly now.

there's not much that really needs to be said about Nina Simone other than that she's one of the alltime great female voices, along with Billie Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald, Etta James and Judy Henske. In my opinoin there are very few to match them. Don't get me wrong every generation throws up some great voices. Of current singers I really lik ethe voices (if not the musical style) of Amy Winehouse and Joss Stone, but they'll both have to go some to compare with the names above.

There are at least three versions of this song on my computer. I have the Muse cover of it and the Chicago House track on Relief Records which samples this and both are really good, but I'm glad it was the original that came up because Nina's version is still the best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.