earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Nab End

or Bring it on!

My first year blipiversary and the weather has not been kind. Indeed, I think this looks set to probably be the most disgustingly wet and miserable day of my entire blipping life! As I write this entry the rain is lashing against the windows and it's blowing up a right hoolie. It's also ridiculously cold. I was out of the house early to try to beat the worst of the weather, which I just about achieved, but cycling back down through Addingham Moorside, with hailstones being driven into my face, I have to say that it was the most unpleasant conditions I've experienced on the bike all winter. All for the sake of a blip!

Getting out of bed very early this Sunday morning I was cursing Blipfoto for being a day off in its recognition of this milestone due to the leap year. The forecast is for it to be sunny tomorrow and much warmer. I'm not going to be able to relax until that final blip of my year has been posted! The most amazing thing about having kept this going continuously for a whole 365 days is that I've never once forgotten to charge the battery or left the camera behind. I suppose that's an indication of how important this endeavour has become to me.

It's also pretty amazing that the camera has survived intact all this time, testimony to the amazing technology wrapped up in these little devices. The great majority of my pictures have been taken while cycling and running so the camera has had to put with a hell of a lot of abuse and lots of potential for damage. Just yesterday, taking a picture while still clipped in to the bike, a really strong gust of wind actually blew me over and my first reaction was not to protect myself or the bike, but to make sure the camera was held clear of the impact as I hit the ground. I actually landed that one rather well, suffering nothing worse than a little embarrassment!

Although I don't feel like this is the completion of my year of blipping, I'm going to use this quirk of the site to make two speeches instead of one - or spread my verbosity over two days to spare you from having to read too much in one go. Today is about you. Tomorrow I would like to talk a bit about the photography.

First, I would like to thank Sarah (Runningbear) and Mark for introducing me to this amazing experience. A chance encounter on the train almost exactly a year ago has had a profound impact upon my life. I will always be incredibly grateful for your enthusiasm, which encouraged me to sign up and start blipping myself almost right away. I need to catch up with you both, and soon. I hope all is well in the new job - and new house?

What I didn't appreciate from that initial 'sell' of the site was the community aspect. As I'm sure everyone has experienced, those first comments are the most wonderful delight and surprise. They were entirely unexpected. In a strange way, though, they remain unexpected, and still every bit as delightful as they were on that very first occasion. It never fails to astonish me how generous you all are with your feedback on my blips. So, second, let me offer a huge thank you to all those people who have subscribed to my journal and anyone who has ever left a comment. I almost certainly would not be here at the end of this unbroken sequence but for you. I feel like this journal belongs to all its contributors every bit as much as it does to me. You are an amazing bunch of people.

I have engaged with so many people here that it's just not possible for me to name everyone I would like. If you've left me comments or hearts recently and I've not got back to you, please accept my apologies and understand that I never take them for granted. They mean the world to me. Truly. The only downside for me about blipping is the impossibility of finding the time to browse all your fabulous journals.

If I look at my statistics I can see who has given me the most comments over the year so I would like to give those top ten a specific mention. You sure deserve it for sticking by me so resolutely, especially recently when I've had very little time for commenting back.

At the top of the list, and with a very special mention, is my blip twin Danksound. We started on the same day and I've enjoyed seeing your confidence develop. You have the most lovely unassuming journal. For me, you are the epitome of what blipping is really all about. Congratulations on your first blipiversary! May there be many more. Next come BethanneElion, Shotlandka, Folkiebooknerd, Yuba, Alicemaylara, Ceridwen, PaulFS, Bittersweet and Harebell. A few of those names are actually a surprise. I'm deeply humbled.

There were a few people who guided my early days here and who were very generous in their support as I found my way. Yearofhappy, Briaan, HKoba, Bookygoatherd,
Gladders and Freespiral come immediately to mind. There are others who have really inspired me with their photography and continue to do so. I want to make particular mention of Yuba, my all-time blip hero who reinspires me every single day with his amazing photographs; Maxellis, who is just, well ... awesome; RobArt and Nina, who I feel it right to mention in the same breath because they continually remind me of how less is so often more and that there is potential for magic everywhere you look; Flashead, who has made me aware of the transformative power of processing and allowed me to start to embrace that myself in an uninhibited way; Bethanne, who reminds me continually of the joy of photography with her unbounded enthusiasm for blipping and her ability to put her soul into her photographs; and the unique Bittersweet, who regularly astonishes me with her creativity and her ability to conjure brilliant blips out of thin air. To blip beside you has been a great honour. You've all set the benchmark for just how good a journal can be.

I'd also like to give a special mention to Jacklloyd, who has just completed his year a few days ahead of me. I don't think anyone on blip has a more distinctly original style and has created a more consistently brilliant body of work. I hope you're going to return to blip amongst us soon Jack. Your fantastic journal and your enthusiastic support of mine has been a big part of this experience for me. You are one cool dude. I salute you

Finally, I would like to acknowledge the art of commenting. I would guess I have generated a good hundred thousand words or so of comments over this last year! The quality of a lot of the writing and observation has been amazing. It would be easy to spend my whole day here just responding and engaging in discussion. There are a few people whose comments read like poetry, so to Kendallishere and Ceridwen, very special thanks for your wonderful writing. But also Folkie, Goatee and PaulFS for your great wit and wordsmithery, Sgwarnog for your always interesting thoughts, Joesblips for your analysis and Giacomo for simply making me glow! There are many, many more I could mention, but this post is already getting far too long!

What I would never have expected when I posted my first blip a year ago was that it would lead to meeting some very special people. I've got to know some really lovely people locally, but I've also ventured to Ireland, specifically to the Sheepshead, lured by the beautiful journals of Freespiral and Travellersjoy. This has been the richest experience of all on blip, making a connection to kindred spirits whom I would never otherwise have met. This is a remarkable place. Finally, finally then, a big thank you to Joe, for creating this magical kingdom, and all the team who keep it running. You are all stars. The whole thing is blipping magic!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.