Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

While We Were Away

Apparently it was windy.

The twisted larch that I moved just before we went to Portland had a very small root structure, and the main root ran horizontally, not vertically. Unfortunately, I cut some of it off when I dug it up, so I knew that the tree was going to need a lot of support in its new location. I tied it to two large stakes (stouter than the tree itself) on the windward side, and thought it would be safe, but the turnbuckle on one of the stays separated.

I hadn't intended working in the yard on our first full day at home, but I didn't want to risk losing a very pretty tree, so I took care of the larch after bringing Miss Annie back home. I was ready to call it a day after that, but then I noticed that a flowering red currant bush was also leaning, so I fixed that, too.

I decided to stop looking for more problems outside, and after a couple of hours at the computer, felt a strong urge to take a nap. I succumbed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.