Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Waiting again

On my very first day attending for treatment it had been explained to me that Fridays tended to be the most liable to delay, since resident patients going home for the weekend were given priority for treatment. Because of this, my Friday appointment times are later than other days. There tends to be a pile-up of patients too, so seeing the Unit 6 waiting area as under-populated as this on a Friday is highly unusual. Anyway, even without that, the nice shiny floor caught my eye.

Afterwards it seemed that I was no sooner home than I needed to head back in to town again. This was one of my Chew & Chat nights with my mate Tom. It was his turn to nominate the restaurant and the pre-meal meeting place. His choices were The Shelbourne Hotel for aperitifs and Bang restaurant for eats. I was first at the Shelbourne and had to text Tom to warn him that the main bar was overridden with students dressed up to the nines on their way to the Trinity Ball. The Horseshoe Bar was pleasantly civilised and under-populated, though, so that's where we met before moving on to Bang.

This restaurant has been the subject of some controversy recently, since the brothers who owned and ran it had got themselves into a bit of a financial mess and had been barred from holding company directorships for I don't remember how many years. The place has changed hands since and has reopened under the same name. It's fabulous! We had a terrific night, waited on right royally and treated to really excellent food. Definitely a place to go to again.

We were very sensible tonight and didn't go on anywhere afterwards as we tend to do on these occasions. I actually got the Nitelink home at midnight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.