Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Big blow

Today was Concert day at the music session (two members choose all the music, loosely presented in the form of a concert). I wasn't supposed to be going it alone, but my chosen associate proved unable to devote the time and energy he would have wished to participate fully, so he asked me to select all the music). It went well, I think.

Afterwards we gathered round the host's table to divide out a cake one of the guys had brought back from his holiday in Sicily. Our host dug out candles in the shape of the figure '17' and these ended up on the cake since the group's 17th anniversary happens in June. This is Bernard, longest-serving member present today, who was given the blow-out-the-candles responsibility. The camera shake was unintentional, but I quite liked it when I saw the shot on the pooter.

After the music session I made my way through the Port Tunnel over to Carl's place (we'd met in Balbriggan for the music). We'd planned a bit of a night out, but Carl's cross-the-road neighbour called over just as we were about to go out and invited us to a 50th Birthday party. Naturally, we agreed to go, but first we went for eats. Our first choice was Valparaiso restaurant in Monsktown but when I phoned to make a booking I got a recorded message saying they'd been forced to close and cease trading (a shame, because it was a good spot). So, we went to a recently opened place in Glasthule instead -- Weafer & Cooper. We'd seen this often while in Glasthule, and regularly told ourselves we 'must go there some time'. Tonight seemed the ideal occasion. It was okay, but we won't hurry back. Perhaps we would have done better asking for pizzas, since that's what they advertise mostly.

After that it was time to stock up with some cash and head to the birthday bash. It was in a Club on the main street in Dún Laoghaire. A mad night, with a '70s theme we knew nothing about. My no-beer/no-fizzy-drinks diet meant I had a bit more whiskey than I'm used to, and I actually called it a night before 1:00am. Carl stayed on, but I made my way back to keep an appointment with a pillow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.