A Feast for the Senses

Wild garlic bulbs, garlic mustard and nettles - all edible! - on the banks of the Tyne, Kirklandhill Farm, East Lothian.

Big Bulbs.

I really must cook more with these plants - all I've done to date is crush some bulbs into sauces. This weekend I'll take a big bag and do some collecting...

Another early ride on the Great Big Bike, but this time inland on lovely trails through farmland in the bright sunshine. This path will be unrideable once the nettles get higher, but for now it's just perfect, and smells great. The trick is not to come home with shoes that end up smelling not-so-great!

This isn't the native Ramsons garlic, but an invasive species from the Mediterranean called "Few Flowered Garlic", or Alium Paradoxum. I photographed this species in Edinburgh about a year ago when I learned about the invasive species and linked to this excellent 2-pager from DEFRA on garlicy things in the UK. Strangely enough, Wikipedia doesn't have a page for this species so I'll try to add one later today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.