just allan

By allan

Beach Sweet Beach

Gordon at the shore on Belhaven beach, East Lothian. We had a lazy day at home after our action-packed trip to Arran, then the little ones and I went down to the beach for some fresh air. With the weather being beautiful and the country on holiday, there were a lot of families down there. Which, on the face of it, is nice.

We were there for about an hour, during which we watched as one family (4 teenagers, one a girl, plus an adult male) walked up to a mute swan and threw stones at it. As 2 other swans moved away, one boy shouted to the group's amusement "look at these pussies running away!" I scared the big brave man away by taking photographs of them.

Then a family videoing a girl on a horse ran, after it threw the girl and galloped off the beach and over the dunes, clearly terrified. I suspect it had never been on a beach before. I just hope the horse is OK and didn't hurt anyone.

Go home people.

After that, my spirits were lifted when I realised that the birds diving just off shore are common terns. Wonderful, the terns are here! Tomorrow afternoon I'll hope to catch some shots of these elegant creatures. In peace, let's hope.

Today's tern photos on Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.