Treegonk

By treegonk

Road Toad II

2am, on the road home, I saw these eyes in my headlights and managed to just miss squishing this little bloke. Having just fallen in love with my macro lens, my blip-brain kicked in a couple of hundred yards further on and I turned back to go and find the toad.

Sitting there motionless, my headlights were now shining right on him. He started to crawl away when I lay down next to him, so I needed to use some flash to catch him in detail.

Once I'd blipped him he was almost right on target for the next set of tyres that might roll along, so I thought I better save him. - I picked him up and took him to the side of the road. There was a stone wall on each side, so I had to drop him into the pitch black, thinking there could only be a couple of feet down to some soft grass.

The drop lasted a bit longer than I had guessed, before I heard him land - maybe about four feet by my free-fall-toad speed/distance estimations. It wasn't a 'splat' noise anyway, so hopefully he survived. He probably just crawled back up the wall and into the road anyway, but at least I gave him a toad's chance. Mind you, he might have a slight fear of heights now. :o?

(the country cousin of city toad, also blipped earlier in the night.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.