Picnic Spot

Travel day today, heading a little further south and now in South Westland on the West Coast.

Lake Ianthe was our picnic spot today. In good old kiwi style we got out our rug and chilly bin and proceeded to eat ciabatta rolls with pate, tomatoes, a variety of cheeses in this idyllic spot. There were tuis and bellbirds singing to us, no sandflies, bees or wasps to contend with and I'm sure there was a late Southern Rata flowering. I have noticed how many trees still have berries and flowers on this side of the coast for our native birds.

Lake Ianthe, like most lakes on this part of the Coast, was hallowed out during the dying stages of the last great ice age 14,000 years ago.

Heading out for dinner shortly, then I'm really hoping to fill in a few gaps on this journey. It was not my intention to have it so itsy bitsy but has been out of my control. Many thanks to you all for your kind words, hearts and stars, so much appreciated :)

I'm losing track of the days but hope your all having a great week :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.