Window of opportunity

Today being a day without appointments, I took a longer run; to the top of Maungawhau (once again). A brisk morning. Clear, cool and with a wind from the south. It felt like it was directly from Antarctica. This is the first week of May, and I didn't expect that my hands would be made very cold by the wind.

It takes me just over a half hour to get to the summit from home, and as I left the sky was that lovely deep orange red of the cloudless pre dawn. Nearing the summit I witnessed the first emergence of the sun above the horizon; I snapped off a single shot and continued up.

This picture was framed to include a couple of other runners. One went too fast and left from left field before i had the focus right. The other is barely seen by the trees on the right. To get to see him (or her) I had to decrease the shadow, and then do some other minor adjustments to exposure and definition to maintain the colour.

In some ways the common phrase which I have used as the title is tautological. One meaning of window is "an opportunity to observe or learn". Whatever; there was a brief window during which I could observe the sun rising without being blinded, and could get a photo (this one) which showed that, AND included another person.

This morning had brought out a considerable number of walkers, runners, and plain tourists. All enjoying the chance to observe an unobstructed sunrise in a clear sky. A wonderful place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.