There's a man on my roof

I nearly forgot Trevor my little roofing man was coming at 5pm. Luckily we pulled in just after he arrived.

This is about the third time he's been on my roof in the last 18 months. Yep, earthquakes.

After each major event I scan my roofline (steep, high and lots of different bits and angles) looking for damage. None of it is major, I haven't had any leaks or things that have fallen in, down or through.

Flashings have lifted or popped, tiles have loosened or bent - that kind of thing. In places he's replaced nails with screws because nails just won't hold. The sort of stuff if left will start to leak or damage further in high winds.

EQC doesn't want to know. They wouldn't look at my roof in either assessment ("it's high" I was told). A curious approach for an insurer.

Trevor did major roof work for me 5 years ago and I'm not prepared to watch my investment deteriorate quicker than it should. Every so often I contact him and eventually we connect and he checks things out. Now he knows what he needs he'll be back on Saturday. A good bloke.

The parents are ensconsed. All things considered they're looking well. We're all a bit tired tonight. I guess I should expect that on the eve of my 5th decade ;-)

I know I've been a poor blip commenter of late. I'm going to be even poorer as I put time into them over these next few days they're here.

'night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.