Simply Me

By Suze981

Athens of the North

After my Pilates class tonight, I went for a quick run in previously un-run territory (for me at least).

I decided to venture down Queen street and into the New Town. This is one of the reasons I love Edinburgh so much. The architecture is stunning. The New Town was developed in the late 18th/early 19th century. It was precisely this type of architecture that has earned the area the name - Athens of the North.

This is a shot of Ainslie Place - it is an oval street that links 2 crescents. There is also an oval garden in the centre. Apparently, Ainslie Place is part of the Moray estate that was planned in 1822.

I would love to live somewhere like this one day. I'm pretty certain I'd chew off my left arm to do so...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.