Robin at large

By Robin

Shall I stay, or shall I run

May 2nd was like what a day in May should be, at least it was when I went inland away from the coast. The weather was gorgeous and it was comfortable to sit in the sun.

The lambs were enjoying the sunshine. This one has a mixture of curiosity and uncertainty. Emboldened by the fact mother does not seem to be bothered and is close by, this lamb decided to hang around.

Shortly after this I ventured into whisky country, to Tomintoul to be precise. This village was made "famous" by the Terry Wogan breakfast show. He sometimes mentioned that the road to Tomintoul was always the first in the country to be closed by snow.

There was a lot of snow on the hills, but we sat outside the Tomintoul fire station, now a cafe, having a coffee in the sunshine. Finding there was a whisky shop across the road I could only venture in. The first bottle I selected cost a mere £160, having baulked at paying as much as that for a bottle of whisky I found a more moderately priced bottle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.