The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

#45718

When I first started my Blipfoto Journal, I made a pledge to use it to discover the many puzzle pieces that make me who I am, The Love Child.

Meet Haynes Grenadilla Wood piccolo #45718. Crafted by hand from African Blackwood and Sterling Silver, this piece of art was my graduation gift from college. A gift to me, from me. I worked an entire summer as a copyist to pay it off, and believe me, it was worth it.

Although Flute was my primary instrument for the better part of my life, I had a knack for the piccolo that haunted me for years. There came a point where my cat hid in the basement, and I could only practice it when alone.

This is a small instrument, yet is extremely loud and high pitched. It is a major weapon in a symphony orchestra, and one could go on a power trip while cutting through massive layers of strings, winds and brass. One cannot miss hearing the piccolo.

Today, I rarely play this beautiful piece of dense wood and silver. It hurts my ears.
If the right buyer came around, I would consider selling it, as it is not doing anyone any good sitting in a case and not making music.

In a way, it is sad, but why hold onto something that no longer beckons me to hold its tiny body in my hands and create bird-like melodies? It's a bit like a child. One never thinks they can ever let go, but suddenly, things change, and "this bird has flown."

I have put #45718 back in the case where it lives, and have tucked it back in the drawer. One day, another budding musician will cherish my baby and call it their own.

My very first legacy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.