The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Mouse in the House?

I have always loved the story of Stewart Little. E.B. White captivated a generation of young "believers," whose imaginations went wild with anticipation upon reading this tale. Stewart paved the way for The Mouse and the Motorcycle,"another childhood favorite!

This mouse, however, was purchased for Mika, our kitten. As you can see, it is a bit tattered. Mika did not do this. Our big cat, Oliver, is the one responsible for the missing fur. I think he thought it was real! In fact, I let out a little squeal when I stepped on this "thing" earlier today. It makes "mousey" sounds, and does not feel very nice under my toes!

I should not even remotely sound as if I am complaining. I have had one cat "present" me with a full-sized rabbit, and another with a huge frog. Yuck to both!

A fake mouse that squeaks can't be that bad, right? Of course not!

Whatever happens, I can always be assured that either Oliver or Mika will chase down and capture any mouse that invades our space.

After they have a nap and some food...of course!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.