What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Game On

Rounders is back!

Yep, following the past few weeks of training, injuries and reminding The Maypole what a rowdy bunch rounders players can be* it was finally time for the opening game of the season today. Naturally it rained most of the day, turned Jesus Green into an absolute quagmire and looked like it'd keep doing so all the way up to mid-afternoon.

The grey skies remained but the rain itself stopped and so around 6ish various folks from the Cambridge Assessment and Zoology teams assembled, started warming up and then unleashed a slightly sodden and tamed variety of rounders on Jesus Green.

For the first game of the season it was quite close, the CA team are unnaturally good (which is why I train with them) and even with Adam going over on his ankle were still happily smacking rounders all over the place (Adam had substitute runners, not that he needs them the way he hits it!). With a lack of Zoologists we had some CA folk in the field for us, so it's a nod to Adam and Stef for catching their own players out and Em for some sterling fielding to trap runners on base.

My own contribution included then catching Em out behind (with "the claw", as my wounded hand was behaving!) so she could go field for us some more! Happily our own batting was also quite successful, I scored a cheeky four rounders which is very good considering I thought my thumb might still be a bit too sore - no pain at all (yet). Still that wasn't enough, even with a spare six outs (yeah, we were down quite a few people!) we were still a good few behind CA and so they took the game.

And that was when I realised I'd taken no photos of the game; I didn't really have a chance while fielding as I was backstop and then with only five of us batting there was no time. Still, I think this post-match pint and my baseball cap gets the idea across :-D

Edited to add - Spotstock (yesterday's Blip) continues! It's the final day on Star Wars Day but there's still time for you to join the virtual festival! Also, all the playlists should remain up and available for listening beyond (depending on the creator's preference I guess) so check it out!


*that is to say, not very.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.