What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Spotstock

After the panic of Tuesday's "It's 23:45 and I don't have a Blip - hey, look at those shelves! I made an advanced decision on what to Blip for Wednesday. This was temporarily de-railed by the appearance of a rather cool tree, but that'll keep for a future Blip (even if Stef does shoot it first!)

Spotstock is the brainchild of my friend Mac Amazing* and as noted in the picture it's very simply a virtual music festival in a virtual field. Each stage in the festival is actually a Spotify playlist that has been created by a user and shared through twitter using the #spotstock hashtag (or through a shiny non-Twitter user form that has appeared this year!). One click on the site takes you through to the playlist in Spotify, and from there it's a musical plethora of excellence.

There's a great range of music on offer, from 'Dr Moose's Magical Energy Elixir' (which I used to wake myself up on Monday) to Mac's stage 'Get Nerdy', a geek-themed odyssey of joy. It's taken me a while but I finally started on my stage for this year last night (or at least, the first one, I'm getting an itch to do another!) and it's once again tied to 'The Avengers'. Every now and again a film turns up where part of the soundtrack lodges in my brain for a good while and happily the soundtrack for 'Avengers' is on Spotify - so I've come up with a "Fight!" stage with some of my favourite fight music of all time - geeky, film-centric fun!

Spotstock III runs up until Friday and if you'd like to get involved you are more than welcome. Have a look at the site, listen to some playlists and then have a go at making your own stage and sharing it with the world!

Now if you'll excuse me, I'm off to listen to Conojito's 'Sexymix', it's Thursday.


*for JCD - that's his real name!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.