GReadyBoy

By greadyboy

WARNING: Trumpet Blowing

I'm afraid this blip is going to contain personal trumpet blowing.

Yesterday I went to the Excellence in Volunteering Awards at Southampton University as I'd been nominated for two awards(!!!).

There were a small group of us from WSA who went down as we'd all been nominated.

'Twas a right posh do; suits, dresses, canapes, the lot.

Surprisingly, I received a 'Highly Commended' award for the 'Impact' category. The photo above is the award, it's a beaut. I had to do a speech in front of the 150 odd people there though. I'm not sure if what I said was actually words. Verbal diarrhoea is the technical term I think.

And then in my state of shock, over the course of the night, I consumed a few too many glasses of wine. Or just a few glasses of wine. Whichever way you want to look at it. Two is too many for me. Got a wee bit drunk, luckily I didn't have to do another speech so I don't think I embarrassed myself too much.

At about 1am last night we got the minibus home. Not sure if the driver knew where he was going. Took a lot longer than it should have to get back to Winch.

Didn't feel too fab this morning. This is why I rarely drink. Managed to stagger into uni and go to writer's society. That's about all I did. Bleurgh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.