aRagingRabbit

By RDKcreate

The Moment

I was talking to Ruth, my wife, yesterday about photography and she said that she takes pictures all the time at school, "capturing moments in time"

I have been wondering how to visualise that statement without the picture looking cliched and this afternoon I remembered by mum had an old pocket watch with an engraving of the Titanic on the back .... so I nicked/borrowed it.

Interestingly the time on the face was set at just before the ship sank below the surface.

For those interested. I used a large mirror, suspended the watch with black thread and used black cardboard to remove all other reflections. Used a longish exposure, side lit with a candle whilst manually firing a flash with a diffuser away from the composition.
Oh ... and a lot of exasperation - almost didn't get it taken in time for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.