Here we go again!

By MI

Musée Rodin Meudon

I've been wanting to visit the second Musée Rodin for a while. This one is the sculptor's home in Meudon, called the Villa des Brillants, and his atelier. You can spot Th here in the atelier. The museum was pretty easy to get to (RER C to Issy and then a walk). It had a lovely garden and was very quiet.

Rodin and his wife Rose Beuret are buried there, under a bronze of Le Penseur (you can see the one in the Musée Rodin on rue de Varenne here.) Another blip taken from the Musée Rodin Paris is here. I've seen photos of Rodin and an author I've been working on (Judith Cladel) taken in the gardens here around 1915. It was moving to recognize the house and the park from the archival photos. It was a nice museum for the kids too. Ch went outside to play in the gardens while Th and I took our time in the atelier.

It's been a good day all around. This morning I got a hair cut (finally found a hairdresser I like here) and then enjoyed the market, even though it was crazy busy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.