Here we go again!

By MI

Saint-Cloud

This is the Seine looking toward Saint-Cloud, from the Garigliano bridge. I was on my way to pick up Ch from school. The statue that was on the bridge a few months ago (see it here) was, strangely, missing! Unfortunately, it seems that Frank Gehry's sculpture for Sophie Calle's performance piece, a telephone that she would call occasionally to speak to random passersby on the bridge, has been moved. More about it here.

I hosted my book club meeting at the apartment this morning. They are a very nice group of women. They'd wanted to read a Canadian book. One of them is married to a franco-manitoban and another's son just finished his first year at McGill, so today we discussed Gabrielle Roy's Bonheur d'Occasion (set in Montreal, by a franco-manitoban). I made banana muffins and served coffee from my north-american drip coffee maker... it was almost like being back in Canada! :)

I spent the afternoon at the Bnf and had coffee there (more coffee, no wonder I can't sleep now!) with the woman who was the external examiner on my PhD thesis (just over 10 years ago). I hadn't seen her since 2009 and it was great to catch up with her.

The kids were happy with their days too. Ch enjoyed her rollerblading gym class and Th had an interesting speaker come to her debate club meeting after school.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.