Norisan

By Norisan

Chinese gardens look different from Japanese ones

In Shanghai again, in the Yuyuan area wondering around a garden.

Japan historically does have a strong influence from China. They used to be the superpower around East Asia for over two thousand years until the late 19th century (in my understanding), so Japan has learned a lot from them by sending officials, monks, and other professionals from different fields.

However, Japan has developed their own unique culture so there is quite a difference in traditions & culture stuff.

For example this garden, I spot differences such as, the usage of pointy stones, round and pointy roofs, and the prism shape (with more pillars than four) of the architecture. Also cannot tell from this photo, but the colors seems to be brighter and colorful here and scale of everything is bigger.
Japanese gardens have a more gentle, polite kind of taste that doesn't jump into your eyes as much as Chinese gardens.

Done some more walking around modern and traditional places for shopping, and was surprised with quite a few people speaking fluent Japanese to me. I asked them if they had a chance to live in Japan, but the answer was "no". They told me that learning/studying Japanese at university is a very good skill to get a job and they're interested in Japanese culture. Nice story to here those kind of things from foreigners you know.

What was strange/funny for me was that quite a few people (about 10?) have mentioned to me (in Japanese or in English) that I seriously look like a Chinese. Maybe because I'm more talkative and dress down a bit shorter hair? Anyway, I enjoyed quite a lot of talking with locals. I always like to do that when I go traveling.

So now back to Tokyo, only one more day for holiday before we start working long again... Got to make the most of it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.