Eilatanfoto

By Eilatanfoto

When Things Get Real...Loopy Luna Park

This week I fight for my position in the workforce. Neccessary cutbacks mean many of us will loose our jobs and doors will close on future careers. I am lucky; not tied to anyone or anything. If it is to be me, I will adjust much easier and, as always, will find hope in new adventures.

Still it is sad. I have come to love the people I work with and whilst I am regularly found atop a soap box arguing, screaming, yelling and eventually laughing (all by-products of my job), I must now quietly, concertedly look for any possible solution to the impending 'final Friday'. It has weighed heavily this weekend....so I went to Luna Park....

Luna Park is one of the silliest places in Melbourne, and a favourite. It is a wonderfully dodgy 100 year old themepark with rickety old wooden rollercoasters, a 'seasickness' pirate ship, an 'about as scary as your average hallway' ghost house and a daredevil carousel... well its not really daredevil unless your like me and get motion sickness. The whole place smells of fairy floss, hotdogs and the sea air. It is filled with a variety of people building up courage, laughing, or screaming with delight and then devistation as they drop their last piece of toffee apple. I have always been a big fan of chaos, so it seemed like a logical place to go and sort my thoughts out...

This blip is one of the many mosaic faces featured in the grounds and I quite liked his attitude (I got the feeling he was quite amused at my situation), not to mention that he made me laugh! It might seem a little wierd to some, but after an hour at the park my perspective had changed and whilst I don't deny a mixture of fear (nay, maybe aprehension is a better word) and saddness, I couldn't help thinking....this week I fight for my position in the workforce and however the hand of fate should fall - what an opportunity I have!

Thankyou loopy Luna Park!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.