Sea Urchin

By seaurchin

A long long day

Nick and I have worked very hard redecorating this room. It's not finished yet, but I am loving the new colour and the lightly white washed floorboards. I spent the morning putting layer after layer of varnish on the floor and when the phone rang I shouted through that if it was for me I was far too busy. Rowan took the call and appeared hesitantly at the door telling me that I really needed to take it. I took the phone and could hear immediately that my mother was very distressed. She was experiencing terrible chest pain and was waiting for the ambulance to come. She had rung to tell me she loved me - just in case.

Today was the longest day. It seemed to take forever to find out what had happened, where she had been taken and what would happen next. I couldn't settle to anything and jumped every time the phone rang.

I hope tomorrow will bring some clarity, but for tonight mum is very ill and I am suspended somewhere between disbelief and reality. I can't help but be transported back to when my father experienced the same thing and he never came home again.

I love you too mum x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.