Cosmosellie

By cosmosellie

The fruits of my labour- silver ring

I finished the silver ring I started last week at the silversmithing course. The ring is very plain and shiny. The course takes place at the National Glass Centre, the view is from the roof and, as you can see, the sea was really calm. The bottom two image show the ring the others show the teacher demonstrating how to solder. The other picture shows some of the work done by one of the other members of the class.

I even managed to stamp 925 on the inside of the ring to show it is 925 parts per 1000 silver, which is the British standard for sterling silver. Any item weighing more than 7 grams should be sent for hallmarking by law. The ring is about 4 grams.
On a technical note I learned how to do a composite image on Picassa which was easy- or maybe I was just lucky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.