Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Willows Farm

We had planned to go to Knebworth for the day but changed to Willows when the weather forecast was dubious. The kids loved it. They both had a guinea pig to hold and stroke and they both stroked a baby goat. I thought for William that that would be it and that Carys may get to fly one of the birds at falconry time. How wrong was I.

We went along to 'Meet the Falconers' and they were showing Nardina. When the guy asked who wanted a go at flying her William was the first one with his hand in the air saying 'Me please, me'. To my surprise the guy was more than happy and William put his hand in the guantlet and other than a little help holding his arm up, did it all by himself. Nardina is about half his height, so it was quite impressive that he wasn't phased by having such a big bird so close. Sadly it wasn't caught on camera as I gave the camera to Jim to as I went into the flying area with W and I think Jim thought I gave it to him to look after rather than to use. Hey ho.

Carys also held Nardina, both of them went on a number of rides, William loved Tristain the Tractor and they both would have spent all day in the soft play if the had been allowed. I have to admit my legs were quite tired when we got back from climbing up the stairs to the banana slide again and again.

The day was finished off with a Chinese courtesy of Nanna and Poppa as I think none of us really wanted to cook after the day at the farm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.