Bristly-bum

The sun almost tried to shine for a while this morning, and I probably should have headed off to record some more quadrats. But I felt tired from Saturday's work so decided to give fieldwork a miss and use the time to try and catch up with a bit of gardening. The continual rain has made the lawn grow vigorously, and I desperately felt the need to exert a bit of control. I raised the mower blades and managed to get the lawn looking much tidier.

Chris helped me dig over part of a flower bed that has got infested with couch, and I then planted eight dahlia tubers, in the hope that they'll provide some autumn colour, and sowed some dark purple opium poppies and some bright Californian poppies . However I have a nasty feeling that they might all just get eaten by slugs!

By the time I'd finished gardening it had started to rain again! I managed to sneak out before the steady rain started, but found little that inspired me. So today you have the bristly back end of a very boring fly, feeding on the flowers of Alexanders. It seemed to be the only species prepared to face the dreary weather!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.