Con-trails and trees

For once the weather was perfect for Bank Holiday Monday. I started the day with a photo-shoot at Stanground Wash, where I was pleased to find water-violet in one of the ditches. This area was flooded for much of the winter, but is drying out now, leaving large areas of cracked mud. I'd really gone to photograph spring ephemeral flowers on the bank next to the railway, but things are still a long way behind and only a few species were out.

After a cup of coffe Pete and I took Rosie out to Holme Fen. The young birch trees were such a dazzling shade of green against the brilliant blue sky, fern fronds were unfurling, tiger beetles were sunbathing on the paths and the whole site smelled sweetly of burgeoning vegetation - I think I had a smile on my face virtually all the time!.This view caught my eye, because the aircraft con-trails seem to lead almost perfectly into the white trunks of the birch trees...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.